KNEEBAR

February 16, 2009

Predictions for UFC 95 Sanchez vs. Stevenson

Filed under: Uncategorized — kneebar @ 12:50 pm

Picking fights on the card airing on Spike TV this Saturday night.

Diego Sanchez over Joe Stevenson – I’m really torn up over this fight.  I’m a Joe Daddy fan, but Diego should be significantly larger coming in and I believe that will be the difference.  I almost picked Joe just because of rumors swirling regarding Diego struggling with the weight cut.  I may revise my pick after viewing the weigh-ins on Friday.

Dan Hardy over Rory Markham – I’m hoping for a solid fight here, I think Hardy takes it with his speed.  Plus, my buddies have a rule concerning fighters where “heart” is listed as one of their primary strengths.

Nate Marquardt over Wilson Gouveia – I’m not counting out Gouveia here, he’s a wonderful fighter, but I think Marquardt’s hunger to lose to Anderson Silva again is too great.

Demian Maia over Chael “delusional” Sonnen – Maia by whatever he wants.  Seriously, Chael Sonnen is rapidly climbing my ladder of fighters I love to hate.  Maybe it’s his assessment of the Middleweight division where somehow he’s at the top, maybe it’s his statements after beating a clearly unfocused Paulo Filho who needs some time and some help, or  maybe it’s his ability to fall into submissions when cradling infants.  Am I a Demian Maia fanboy?  Why yes I am, thank you for asking.

Josh Koscheck over Paulo Thiago – This is dangerous as Kos has stated he’s not watched any tape on Thiago and doesn’t know much about him.  Does anybody remember Werdum and Dos Santos?  I still see Kos pulling it out.

Terry Etim over Brian Cobb

Junior Dos Santos over Stefan Struve – I expect Cigano to win, though it may not be pretty.

Yeah, there are more fights, I might pick those later as I watch more tape.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

